# National Fraud Enforcement Division
*Division of the United States Department of Justice; recipient in June 2026 of the Vice President's referral of the House Oversight Committee's Minnesota staff report.*
The **National Fraud Enforcement Division** is a division of the [[United States Department of Justice]]. In June 2026 it was headed by Assistant Attorney General Colin M. McDonald, to whom Vice President [[JD Vance]] referred the [[House Oversight]] Committee staff report on Minnesota.[^1][^2] The pack does not establish the division's creation date, statutory basis, staffing, or caseload. Those facts are left out here rather than supplied from outside the record.
The referral reached the division while other Justice Department components already had pending actions against the State of [[Minnesota]]. The largest is *[[United States v. State of Minnesota (0:26-cv-00273)]]*. The Civil Rights Division filed it on January 14, 2026, under [[Title VII]] of the [[Civil Rights Act of 1964]].[^3][^4] The Department titled its announcement of that suit, release No. 26-21, "United States Department of Justice Files Lawsuit Against Minnesota's 'Affirmative Action' Regime."[^3] The project's catalogue of U.S.-government "regime" usages finds Minnesota the only U.S. state so described. That is the project's catalogue finding, not an independently established fact.[^5]
The project documents prepared for the division say they make structural claims about institutions and statutes. They reserve questions of individual knowledge, intent, and culpability to "the grand jury, the court, and the Division."[^1][^6]
## Referral of the House Oversight staff report
The House Oversight Committee staff report is *[[The Cost of Doing Nothing]]: How Tim Walz and Keith Ellison Fueled Minnesota's Fraud Explosion*. It was first released on March 4, 2026, as a 54-page document. An expanded 205-page version followed in June 2026.[^2] The project's merged master refers to the report's length as "the 259 pages." The companion's footnote, marked primary-confirmed, gives 205 pages, and that figure is used here.[^2][^7]
Chairman [[James Comer]] sent the report to Vice President Vance with a transmittal letter dated June 7, 2026.[^2] Vance's referral to McDonald was reported on June 8, 2026, first by CNN and then by broader press on June 8–9.[^2] The companion notes that the referral letter's face date could not be pinned to a primary source. The June 7 transmittal and the June 8 report bound it.[^2] The report's title names Governor [[Tim Walz]] and Attorney General [[Keith Ellison]].[^2]
According to the merged master, the Committee asked law-enforcement and regulatory agencies to "conduct a thorough review of Minnesota's social services program reimbursements and enrollment verification." The requested period runs "from 2019 to the present."[^7]
The merged master also records that Executive Order 14395, §6, directs promotion of False Claims Act qui tam actions under 31 U.S.C. §3730.[^7] The pack does not state whether the division has opened any matter in response to the referral.
The companion frames the referral in partisan terms. It says the referral names two officials of one party, while Minn. Stat. §43A.191 was "maintained without repeal by both across nine administrations."[^6] The project's time table counts the statute's operation differently: six governors since 1987, three DFL and three Republican.[^8]
## Related federal actions against Minnesota
### United States v. State of Minnesota
The Civil Rights Division's Employment Litigation Section filed the complaint in the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota on January 14, 2026, as No. 0:26-cv-00273.[^4][^9] The complaint alleges violations of Title VII. It cites [[Minn. Stat. § 43A.191]] eight times. Among those citations is subdivision 3(c), which requires an agency to explain its reason for hiring a non-affirmative candidate.[^4]
Attorney General Pamela Bondi certified the case as a matter of general public importance.[^3] The project's time table records her statement: "Making hiring decisions based on race and sex is simple discrimination."[^8] The pack records the filing but no later disposition. The case is treated here as pending.
The project's time table records several further points about the statute:[^8]
- It has operated since 1987.
- It has served under six governors, three DFL and three Republican.
- It has been amended five times.
- The 2026 suit is the first federal challenge to it.
The pack does not list the individual amendments by date or enacting session. The party-by-party record of each amendment is therefore not stated here.
The legal backdrop includes *[[Ames v. Ohio Department of Youth Services]]*, 605 U.S. 303 (2025). In that case the Supreme Court held that Title VII's disparate-treatment provision "draws no distinctions between majority-group plaintiffs and minority-group plaintiffs." The Court also rejected the Sixth Circuit's heightened "background circumstances" rule.[^10]
The project records a Civil Rights Division investigation letter to Minnesota dated July 10, 2025.[^11] At the time of the filing, the Civil Rights Division was headed by Assistant Attorney General Harmeet K. Dhillon.[^12] Congress created the office of Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights in 1957, and the Civil Rights Division was established on September 9 of that year.[^13]
### Hennepin County Attorney's Office investigation
On May 5, 2025, the Justice Department announced the *[[DOJ Civil Rights Division investigation of the Hennepin County Attorney's Office (race in prosecutorial decisions)]]*, recorded as DOJ 25-469.[^14] The investigation examined the consideration of race in prosecutorial decisions under the office's *Negotiations Policy for Cases Involving Adult Defendants*, which took effect on April 28, 2025.[^14][^15]
According to the case record, the matter was closed in February 2026 after the policy was amended. Closure does not foreclose private remedies.[^14] The pack's primary URL documents the opening of the investigation. The closure rests on the project's case record.
## In the Minnesota record
### Who
- Assistant Attorney General Colin M. McDonald, National Fraud Enforcement Division, received the Vice President's referral.[^1][^2]
- The Civil Rights Division's Employment Litigation Section filed *United States v. State of Minnesota*.[^9]
- Attorney General Pamela Bondi certified that case as a matter of general public importance.[^3]
### When
- September 9, 1957: the Civil Rights Division is established.[^13]
- May 5, 2025: the Hennepin County Attorney's Office investigation is announced.[^14]
- July 10, 2025: the Civil Rights Division sends its investigation letter to Minnesota.[^11]
- January 14, 2026: the complaint in No. 0:26-cv-00273 is filed, and release No. 26-21 is issued.[^3][^4]
- March 4, 2026: the first 54-page release of the House Oversight staff report.[^2]
- June 7, 2026: Comer's transmittal letter to Vance.[^2]
- June 8, 2026: the referral to the National Fraud Enforcement Division is reported.[^2]
## See also
- [[Hennepin County Attorney's Office]]
- [[Minnesota Attorney General]]
- [[Iraq Liberation Act]]
- [[How Minnesota Got Here]]
- [[POSIWID]]
## Notes
[^1]: How Minnesota Got Here, *merged master, footnoted* (compiled June 12, 2026) — addressee line to Assistant Attorney General Colin M. McDonald (National Fraud Enforcement Division), Vice President JD Vance, and Chairman James Comer; states the record's structural-claims discipline.
[^2]: The Instrument No One Will Name, *densified companion*, note 1 (June 18, 2026) — the staff report's title, 54-page release of March 4, 2026, and 205-page expansion of June 2026; Comer transmittal of June 7, 2026; referral to McDonald reported June 8, 2026; face date not pinned to a primary.
[^3]: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs, *United States Department of Justice Files Lawsuit Against Minnesota's 'Affirmative Action' Regime*, release No. 26-21 (Jan. 14, 2026) — title of release; Attorney General Bondi's certification of general public importance. https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/united-states-department-justice-files-lawsuit-against-minnesotas-affirmative-action-regime
[^4]: U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, *Complaint, United States v. State of Minnesota*, No. 0:26-cv-00273 (D. Minn.) (Jan. 14, 2026) — Title VII action; cites Minn. Stat. § 43A.191 eight times, including subd. 3(c). https://www.justice.gov/crt/media/1423361/dl
[^5]: United States Congress, *Iraq Liberation Act of 1998*, Pub. L. 105-338 (1998) — U.S. statutory use of "the regime headed by Saddam Hussein"; cited by the project's catalogue (How Minnesota Got Here, note 40). https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-105publ338/pdf/PLAW-105publ338.pdf
[^6]: The Instrument No One Will Name, *densified companion*, §1 and §9 (June 18, 2026) — register statement reserving culpability to the grand jury, the court, and the Division; states §43A.191 was maintained without repeal by both parties across nine administrations.
[^7]: How Minnesota Got Here, *merged master, footnoted*, §7 and the prosecution-reading passage (June 12, 2026) — the Committee's requested review and its 2019-to-present scope; reference to "the 259 pages"; EO 14395 §6 and 31 U.S.C. §3730.
[^8]: How Minnesota Got Here, *Time Table*, row TL-0934 (Jan. 14, 2026) — records the statute's operation since 1987 under six governors (3 DFL, 3 R), five amendments, the first federal challenge, and Bondi's quoted statement. https://www.justice.gov/crt/media/1423361/dl
[^9]: U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, *Employment Litigation Section* (n.d.) — the section that filed the Minnesota action. https://www.justice.gov/crt/employment-litigation-section
[^10]: Supreme Court of the United States, *Ames v. Ohio Department of Youth Services*, 605 U.S. 303 (2025) — Title VII's disparate-treatment provision draws no majority/minority distinction; "background circumstances" rule rejected. https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/24pdf/23-1039_c0n2.pdf
[^11]: U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, *Investigation Letter to Minnesota* (July 10, 2025) — letter as recorded in the project's claim:link pairs. https://www.justice.gov/crt/
[^12]: U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, *Assistant Attorney General staff profile* (n.d.) — Harmeet K. Dhillon as Assistant Attorney General. https://www.justice.gov/crt/staff-profile/assistant-attorney-general
[^13]: U.S. Department of Justice, *Civil Rights Division Celebrates 60th Anniversary* (archived release) — 1957 act creating an Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights; Division established September 9, 1957. https://www.justice.gov/archives/opa/pr/civil-rights-division-celebrates-60th-anniversary
[^14]: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs, *U.S. Department of Justice Announces Civil Rights Investigation into Consideration of Race in Prosecutorial Decisions*, DOJ 25-469 (May 5, 2025) — opening of the investigation; status (closed February 2026 after amendment) per the project's case record. https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/us-department-justice-announces-civil-rights-investigation-consideration-race-prosecutorial
[^15]: Hennepin County Attorney's Office, *Negotiations Policy for Cases Involving Adult Defendants* (eff. Apr. 28, 2025) — the policy examined in the investigation. https://kstp.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/04/Negotiation-Policy-for-Cases-Involving-Adult-Defendants.pdf