# Federal grand jury
*Grand jury of a United States district court; in the Minnesota record, the body that returned the March 14, 2024 Dyrdahl indictment and the January 29, 2026 Cities Church indictment.*
In the Minnesota record, a federal grand jury appears through two returned indictments. On March 14, 2024, a federal grand jury indicted [[Ashley Dyrdahl]] of [[Burnsville]] on eleven counts of straw-purchasing five firearms.[^1] On January 29, 2026, a federal grand jury indicted Nekima Levy-Armstrong and eight others under 18 U.S.C. §241 and the FACE Act. The United States Attorney's Office for the District of [[Minnesota]] announced that indictment.[^2]
The record carries a disposition for only the first of these. Dyrdahl pleaded guilty to two counts, nine counts were dismissed, and on September 10, 2025 she was sentenced to 45 months.[^3] For the January 2026 indictment, the record holds only the date, the defendants' number and the statutes charged. It shows no plea, trial or disposition, so those charges stand as allegations as of the release.[^2]
The same record lists other federal charging actions in Minnesota. These include the September 20, 2022 charges against 47 defendants in the [[Feeding Our Future]] case, which the record classifies as an indictment stating allegations as of that date.[^4] It also lists the complaint the United States filed against the State itself, which the record classifies as a complaint rather than an indictment.[^5]
## Who
The January 29, 2026 indictment named Nekima Levy-Armstrong and eight others, nine defendants in all. The Department of Justice release identifies them as the Cities Church defendants.[^2] The March 14, 2024 indictment named Ashley Dyrdahl of Burnsville.[^1] The record does not identify the grand jurors, the prosecutors who presented either case, or the judge assigned.
## What
The 2026 indictment charges the defendants under 18 U.S.C. §241 and the Freedom of Access to Clinic Entrances (FACE) Act.[^2] The record does not quote the indictment's counts or the conduct alleged beyond the statutes named.
The 2024 indictment charged Dyrdahl with eleven counts. Those counts covered the straw purchase of five firearms for Gooden between September 21, 2023 and January 25, 2024: a Glock 47, a Glock 43X and three AR-pattern lower receivers.[^1] The case ended in a guilty plea to two counts, with the other nine dismissed, and a 45-month sentence on September 10, 2025.[^3]
## When
- September 21, 2023 to January 25, 2024: the five firearm purchases charged in the Dyrdahl indictment.[^1]
- March 14, 2024: a federal grand jury indicts Dyrdahl on eleven counts.[^1]
- September 10, 2025: Dyrdahl is sentenced to 45 months after pleading guilty to two counts.[^3]
- January 29, 2026: a federal grand jury indicts Levy-Armstrong and eight others under 18 U.S.C. §241 and the FACE Act.[^2]
## Where
Dyrdahl is identified in the record as a resident of Burnsville, Minnesota.[^1] The 2026 indictment was announced by the United States Attorney's Office for the District of Minnesota.[^2] The record does not state the division in which either grand jury sat.
## How many
- Dyrdahl indictment: eleven counts returned, two pleaded to, nine dismissed.[^1][^3]
- Firearms charged: five, comprising two Glock pistols and three AR-pattern lower receivers.[^1]
- Sentence: 45 months, imposed September 10, 2025.[^3]
- 2026 indictment: nine defendants, Levy-Armstrong and eight others.[^2]
## In the at-issue record
The Dyrdahl indictment is at-issue item AI-Dakota-031 in the Dakota package. The item is filed under the section heading "II. The Use-of-Force Ledger" and rests on two sources, an agency release and a news report.[^1][^3]
The item's listed anchor is a White House presidential-action page dated May 2026.[^6] The record does not tie the content of that page to the Dyrdahl facts. The indictment, plea and sentence rest on the ATF release and the CBS News report.[^1][^3]
The same package's record row D21 concerns the person for whom the firearms were bought. According to a Fox 9 report, Gooden sought restoration of his firearm rights and was denied in 2020. The same report counts 27 such restoration petitions in Dakota County as of February 2024.[^7] That account comes from a news report rather than the court record. In the sequence the record documents, the restoration denial came first, then five straw purchases over about four months, then the federal indictment.[^7][^1]
## In the Minnesota record
### What
The Feeding Our Future charges were announced on September 20, 2022 against 47 defendants, with a stated $250 million at issue. The record classifies them as an indictment, with allegations as of that date, and notes that many defendants have since been convicted.[^4] On June 7, 2024, the first trial in the case ended in guilty verdicts against five defendants, including Farah and Shariff.[^8] On June 6, 2025, the Department of Justice announced charges against [[Dorothy Jean Moore]] of [[Apple Valley]] as the 72nd defendant. The record lists those charges as allegations.[^9] The count of defendants therefore rose from 47 at the September 2022 announcement to 72 by June 2025.[^4][^9]
The Minnesota Attorney General's Office announced indictments in health and human services matters on September 18, 2025 and December 18, 2025.[^10][^11] The record describes these as Attorney General and federal actions, lists them as allegations, and records one guilty plea. It does not state which charges, if any, a federal grand jury returned.[^10][^11]
The federal action against the State is a complaint, not an indictment. *United States v. State of Minnesota*, No. 0:26-cv-00273 (D. Minn.), was filed January 14, 2026. The record classifies it as a complaint stating allegations, before a three-judge panel.[^5] See [[United States v. State of Minnesota (0:26-cv-00273)]].
### When
- September 20, 2022: charges against 47 Feeding Our Future defendants announced.[^4]
- June 7, 2024: five defendants found guilty at the first Feeding Our Future trial.[^8]
- June 6, 2025: Moore charged as the 72nd defendant.[^9]
- September 18 and December 18, 2025: health and human services indictments announced by the Attorney General's Office.[^10][^11]
- January 14, 2026: *United States v. State of Minnesota*, No. 0:26-cv-00273, filed.[^5]
## Notes
[^1]: Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, *Burnsville woman indicted for straw-purchasing firearms used in fatal shooting* (Mar. 14, 2024) — federal grand jury indictment of Ashley Dyrdahl of Burnsville on eleven counts for straw-purchasing five firearms between September 21, 2023 and January 25, 2024 (record row D20; at-issue item AI-Dakota-031). https://www.atf.gov/news/press-releases/burnsville-woman-indicted-straw-purchasing-firearms-used-fatal-shooting-three-first
[^2]: U.S. Department of Justice, U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Minnesota, *Federal Grand Jury Indicts Cities Church Defendants* (Jan. 29, 2026) — indictment of Nekima Levy-Armstrong and eight others under 18 U.S.C. §241 and the FACE Act (timeline row TL-0954). https://www.justice.gov/usao-mn/pr/federal-grand-jury-indicts-cities-church-defendants
[^3]: CBS News Minnesota, *Ashley Dyrdahl sentencing* (Sept. 10, 2025) — guilty plea to two counts, nine dismissed, 45-month sentence (record row D20; at-issue item AI-Dakota-031). https://www.cbsnews.com/minnesota/news/ashley-dyrdahl-sentencing-burnsville-first-responder-shooting/
[^4]: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs, *U.S. Attorney Announces Federal Charges Against 47 Defendants in $250 Million Feeding Our Future Case* (Sept. 20, 2022) — 47 defendants, $250 million; classified in record row D11 as an indictment, allegations as of that date. https://www.justice.gov/archives/opa/pr/us-attorney-announces-federal-charges-against-47-defendants-250-million-feeding-our-future
[^5]: Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse, *United States v. State of Minnesota*, No. 0:26-cv-00273 (D. Minn. filed Jan. 14, 2026) — complaint-allegation; three-judge panel (record row D26). https://clearinghouse.net/case/47712/
[^6]: The White House, *Restoring Integrity to America's Financial System* (May 2026) — anchor URL listed by at-issue item AI-Dakota-031. https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/2026/05/restoring-integrity-to-americas-financial-system/
[^7]: Fox 9, *Burnsville gunman wanted his firearm rights restored; this is why the system blocked him* (2024) — reported 2020 denial of Gooden's firearm-rights restoration; 27 Dakota County petitions as of February 2024 (record row D21). https://www.fox9.com/news/burnsville-gunman-wanted-his-firearm-rights-restored-this-is-why-the-system-blocked-him
[^8]: U.S. Department of Justice, U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Minnesota, *Five Defendants Found Guilty for Their Roles in $250 Million Fraud* (June 7, 2024) — first Feeding Our Future trial convictions, including Farah and Shariff (record row D17). https://www.justice.gov/usao-mn/pr/five-defendants-found-guilty-their-roles-250-million-fraud-scheme
[^9]: U.S. Department of Justice, U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Minnesota, *Apple Valley Woman Charged in $250 Million Feeding Our Future Case* (June 6, 2025) — charges against Dorothy Jean Moore as the 72nd defendant; complaint-allegation (record row D15). https://www.justice.gov/usao-mn/pr/apple-valley-woman-charged-participating-250-million-feeding-our-future-fraud-scheme
[^10]: Minnesota Attorney General's Office, *Health and human services indictments announcement* (Sept. 18, 2025) — indictments, Attorney General and federal; complaint-allegation; one guilty plea (record row D19). https://www.ag.state.mn.us/Office/Communications/2025/09/18_HHS.asp
[^11]: Minnesota Attorney General's Office, *Health and human services indictments announcement* (Dec. 18, 2025) — further indictments in the same matter (record row D19). https://www.ag.state.mn.us/Office/Communications/2025/12/18_HSS.asp